TROLL WARNING 

NOTE FROM EL CHAMUCO: This warning was originaly set up when the infamous "Hemmorhoid" from San Francisco was still pestering UseNet. His account from JPS.net was terminated by March of 1998 due to the large amounts of complaints filed against him, and so far he has not returned. Nevertheless I decided to keep the Troll Warning up just in case. If he were to return I will promptly update the Troll Warning with the latest information on how to get rid of him.

THE STORY BEHIND THE TROLL

In February, 1997 a series of messages appeared on alt.sex.prostitution.tijuana telling people that Tijuana was ridden with "high crime" and that because of that any American visitor should carry with him all sorts of weapons ranging from knives to mace, pepperspray, and even hand guns. The author of those messages argued that American citizends would be the primary targets of all the "hig crime." 

This is FALSE. Taking weapons into Mexico, for one thing, is a federal offense under Mexican law punishable with several years in prison. Second, as long as any visitors, in this case to TJ's red light district, were to follow the safety guidelines in the Brockoton O'Toole TJ FAQ no American visitor should fear any type of wrongdoing on his person. 

This was pointed out to the author of the misleading messages, who, as a childish response, "trolled" ASPT with a series of racist (anti-mexican) messages, and forged the e-mail addresses of several ASPT regulars in more racist messages to all kind of newsgroups (he had, and still has, a particular penchant for posting anti-semite messages to many crossposted newsgroups.) 

His messages, from day one, got him on trouble. I organized a complaint task force with the purpose of curbing his abusive behavior. This effrot got him off from American On Line THREE times (yes: he lost THREE accounts on AOL for repeating this behavior.) Then we got him off Earthlink.net TWICE (and they no longer allow him to get back on their service.) 

His "tactic" to post to UseNet is well known to the regulars at ASPT: most of the time he gets one of those web-based free e-mail accounts (He's particularly fond of I-NAME, although he has also used Hotmail.) He then uses the anonymous e-mail address to post his garbage through the DejaNews web-to-UseNet gateway, hence partially shielding himself from being recognized. (I should add that we've gotten him off DejaNews a few times by sending complaints to DejaNews' webmaster.) 

Too bad DejaNews will post the originating ISP address of the user, thereby marking the culprit's ISP for us, and clearing the way for us to send our complaints. 

When DejaNews cuts him off he simply changes the settings in his 16-bit version of Netscape  with his "identity" info, or with forged information about me or any other of the regulars of ASPT. This was probably the case if you found an offensive message under my name. 

This kid has a very unhealthy obsession with getting *me* in trouble, since I was the one who, since day one, criticized his misleading posts and, eventually, led the efforts to get his ISPs to terminate his accounts. In other words, he's holding a very infantile grudge. That's why you'll see, as long as he is online, forged messages with my name, but authored by him. 

However, it is all too easy to spot the forgery from the real thing simply by looking at the post's HEADERS. Notice, for example, this copy from one of his messages sent to UseNet through an account he got with JPS.NET

Date: Sat, 18 Oct 1997 20:57:19 -0700 
From: EL CHAMUCO 
Organization: http://www.geocities.com/Baja/9664/tjgal1.htm 
Message-ID: <3449851F.62F7@legalizit.com> 
X-Mailer: Mozilla 2.02 (Win16; I) 
Newsgroups: alt.sex.prostitution.tijuana 
Subject: You should carry MACE in TJ! asp aspt 
NNTP-Posting-Host: istk-port747.jps.net 
Path:...news.bbnplanet.com!news.pbi.net 
!blush.jps.net!istk-port747.jps.net 

First sign of forgery: he put "chamuco@legalizit.com" in the FROM line, which is what he thinks is my real address. I NEVER use my real address when posting to UseNet to fend off SPAM. 

Second sign: Notice how he put the old address of the picture gallery in the CHAMUCO webpage in the ORGANIZATION line. I NEVER do that. I ALWAYS put "Fake Organizations Inc." (and something tells me after he learns I put this warning he'll change the organization line too. Very predictable.) 

Third sign: The X-MAILER line says the newsreader he used to post the message was Netscape Navigator version 2.02 for windows 16 bit (3.x). Too bad I use Netscape COMMUNICATOR 4.03 for win 95. Prior to this I used the Navigator 3.0. 

(UPDATE: The little kid finally upgraded his version of Netscape Navigator from version 2.02 to version 3.04 GOLD (wow!).  Too bad his new version of Netscape is STILL for WIN 16 bit, as the headers in his messages clearly say.)

Fourth sign: The SUBJECT line is something I would NEVER put in a message to UseNet. If you read my law and custom section you'll know why. The same goes for racists posts. Being Mexican I find racism to be disgusting. 

Fifth sign: The NNTP-POSTING-HOST line. This is THE one thing which always gets this kid in trouble. In his forgery it says it came from jps.net. That's NOT my ISP, nor the NNTP host I use to post to UseNet. By the way; in a later post, which he sent through DejaNews, the NNTP line read as coming from IP address 208.25.50.185, which comes from machine used by SPRINT--who gives the Navigator 2.02 with its introductory CD. Turned out Sprint allowed JPS net to use their NNTP server. Later on MCI allowed the use of their NNTP server. Being JPS.NET a relatively small ISP, this is only logical. 

Sixth sign: Lastly, the PATH line ends with jps.net, meaning the message orignated from that machine. As I said before, jps.net is not my ISP nor I use their machines. 

His messages posted from DejaNews can be identified because of the address he uses, which are usually with some sort of racist tag. One of his most obvious uses of racism came with his "disraeli48@hotmail.com" address. Notice his racism in trying to mislead people into thinking jews are troublemakers. The second mark in his DejaNews posts is the "X-Originating-IP-Addr" line, which says the message came from IP address 208.25.50.185. Doing a search on INTERNIC you can see that address belongs to SPRINT. Again: Sprint at that point was providing NNTP and IP machines for JPS traffic. 


WHO IS THIS CRETIN?
 

In ASPT he is known as "The Hemorroid" (for obvious reasons.) He is a kid from San Francisco (we calculate his age around the early teens in light of the content of his messages and his behavior online.) He has TOO much free time on his hands, TOO little places to go, NOT too many friends, and, judging from his behavior, VERY incompetent parenting. 

He used to identify himself as "Tom Wong" and described himself as being "Chinese." We don not know if he was telling the truth, but since he has posted several messages praising Asian cities as being superior to Mexico we feel there could be weight to the claim (though it could also mean he's trying to bismirch people of Asian origin or descent by acting like a jerk.) What we DO know is that once one of our correspondents caught him in AOL and he identified himself as "Tom." He has used MANY e-mail aliases, the most famous of which was litigator@cyberdude.com. 

Whichever the case he's just a kid who needs a good spanking--and apparently losig 5 internet accounts is not enough. It should be noted that he has posted MANY racist messages to ethnically-oriented newsgroups, and he has even posted anti-black messages in white supremacist newsgroups (under different e-mail aliases, but many times as "Tom Wong.") 


WHAT TO DO ABOUT HIM
 

A few things can be done about him. If you want to cut his access to DejaNews write to their WEBMASTER and explain the case. They WILL cut his access. All you need to do is to send them a complete copy of an offensive/misleading message posted by him through DejaNews and explain the post is abusive and off-topic. 

The second thing you can do is to send copies of his offensive message to his current internet provider with the explanation. Point to the irregularities in his headers if the message is a forgery and report him for USENET ABUSE. Make sure you mention the message is offensive, and off-topic. If the message originated from DejaNews then make sure you point to them the IP address header. 

Another thing you can to is to report his use of the I-NAME or HOTMAIL address for abusive purposes (that IS what he's using the address for, since he CAN'T use the DejaNews engine without an e-mail address.) Using the address for abusive purposes will get his e-mail account terminated. 

As of the second week of November of 1997 the little creep was still posting garbage from JPS.NET. If they haven't terminated his account already, and you find that the message you found from him was posted from there, you can send your complaints to abuse@jps.net and they'll look into it. 

(UPDATE: His JPS.net account was terminated by March of 1998 due to the amount of complaints filed against him.)

If he were to change ISPs then simply look at the headers and send the complaints to the respective webmasters. 

BACK to the FEEDBACK PAGE